rtss-logo    RTSS 2001   
The 22nd IEEE Real-Time Systems Symposium   
Savoy Place - London , UK   
December 3-6, 2001  
Sponsored by
The IEEE Computer Society Technical Committee on Real-Time Systems
The IEE Institution of Electrical Engineers and The University of York
Call for Papers
Important dates
Organizing Commitee
Program Commitee
Paper submission
Work-in-Progress Session
Keynote Speakers
Technical Program - (PDF)
Local Information
Hotel Information

Scope of the Conference

The purpose of this symposium is to bring together researchers and developers from academia, industry and government to advance the scientific and engineering technologies of real-time computer and communication systems.

Papers on all aspects of real-time systems are sought, including:

Of particular interest are reports describing practical experiences and experimental results based on system building efforts, and real-time issues in applications such as avionics, multimedia, robotics, military C3I systems, automated process control, and manufacturing.


Important Dates

May 1, 2001 Deadline for electronic paper submissions
July 25, 2001 Notification of acceptance
September 5, 2001 Final paper due
December 3, 2001 Pre-Conference Workshop, London, UK
December 4-6, 2001 RTSS 2001, London, UK


Paper Submission

Papers should describe original work, and be 20 double-spaced pages (5,000 words) or less in length. All accepted submissions will appear in the proceedings published by IEEE. The best papers from the conference will be considered for publication in a special issue of a journal (to be decided). The deadline for submission is May 1, 2001.

Paper submissions must be made electronically via the web, in either postscript or PDF format. Hardcopy or e-mailed submissions will not be accepted. To submit a paper please follow the submission guidelines at http://rtss2001.sssup.it/submit.html

For additional information contact the program chair:

Prof. Giorgio Buttazzo
University of Pavia
Department of Computer Science
Via Ferrata, 1
27100 Pavia, Italy
Phone: +39 0382 505-755
Email: buttazzo@unipv.it



RTSS 2001 will co-host a workshop on December 3, 2001, directly before the conference. The focus of the workshop will be on Real-Time Embedded Systems. Details on the workshop can be found here.


Conference Organizing Committee

General Chair Kevin Jeffay
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Program Chair Giorgio Buttazzo
University of Pavia, Italy
Finance Chair Walt Heimerdinger
Honeywell Technology Center
Work in Progress Chair Gerhard Fohler
Mälardalen University, Sweden
Industrial Chair Iain Bate
University of York, UK
Publicity Co-Chairs Eduardo Tovar
Polytechnical Institute of Porto
Richard West
Boston University
Alan Burns
University of York, UK


Program Committee

Luis Almeida University of Aveiro, Portugal
James H. Anderson University of North Carolina, USA
Theodore P. Baker Florida State University, USA
Sanjoy Baruah University of North Carolina
Azer Bestavros Boston University, USA
Riccardo Bettati Texas A&M University, USA
Alan Burns University of York, UK
Gerhard Fohler Mälardalen University, Sweden
Michael Gonzalez Harbour Universidad de Cantabria, Spain
Hans Hansson Mälardalen University, Sweden
Tei-Wei Kuo National Taiwan University, Taiwan
Insup Lee University of Pennsylvania, USA
Kwei-Jay Lin University of California - Irvine, USA
Giuseppe Lipari Scuola Superiore S. Anna, Italy
Lucia Lo Bello University of Catania, Italy
Doug Locke TimeSys Corporation, USA
Sang Lyul Min Seoul National University, Korea
Al Mok University of Texas at Austin, USA
Daniel Mossé University of Pittsburgh, USA
Joseph Ng Hong Kong Baptist University
Peter Puschner Technische Universitdt Wien, Austria
Raj Rajkumar Carnegie Mellon University, USA
Krithi Ramamritham UMass at Amherst and IIT Bombay
Manas Saksena TimeSys Corporation, USA
Lui Sha University of Illinois, USA
Chia Shen Mitsubishi Electric Research Labs, USA
Sang Son University of Virginia, USA
Jack Stankovic University of Virginia, USA
Neeraj Suri Chalmers University, Sweden
Kenji Toda Electrotechnical Lab, Japan
Martin Törngren Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden
Eduardo Tovar Polytechnical Institute of Porto, Portugal
Farn Wang Academia Sinica, Taiwan
Andy J. Wellings University of York, UK
Per-Arne Wiberg Halmstad University, Sweden
Wei Zhao Texas A&M University, USA